(1994) In the Mouth of Madness

One of my favorite things about John Carpenter is his extremely limited use of CGI. Anyone who has seen The Thing will know what I’m talking about. The special effects in this movie range from miniature set pieces shot up close to a full size 30-man operated partially animatronic wall of creatures. Some people will say that these 80’s style techniques hurt the production value but those people don’t know shit about shit.

I enjoyed the fuck out of this movie, it’s violent and in your face but also plays out as a legitimately creepy psychological thriller. I can relate to that underlying feeling that everything may not be what it seems ever since my mom tried to convince me that she paid all of my friends to hang out with me. Sam Neill, despite being known mostly for Jurassic Park, has actually been in a bunch of horror movies. He just has a natural talent for looking sweaty and nervous.

Is In the Mouth of Madness better than The Thing? I’ll leave that up to you to decide but no, no it isn’t.

8.5/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

