(1972) Don’t Torture a Duckling

Don’t Torture a Duckling, for all intensive purposes, is a straight up murder mystery but one that’s crafted well and kept me engaged.

One of the most enjoyable part of watching this was the gorgeous landscapes and lead actresses. It’s tough to feel fear when the movie is set in such a beautiful location. My thought process was sort of like, yeah I get it, kids die here sometimes but my god, look where you live; it’s a small price to pay really.

As far as the storyline goes, it was about as successful as they come in terms of murder mysteries considering I didn’t know who the killer was until the last moments. The entire movie is long but deliberate with oftentimes weird and ambiguous moody voodoo-like scenes that kind of elevate it into the horror category. Plus they kill kids here which I really like. Killing kids in American cinema is so taboo these days, it’s refreshing to see a couple of little poop hurricanes become the victims for once.

It’s kind of hard to talk about this movie without unfortunately dedicating a portion of this review to the ridiculous last death scene which was just silly and overdone. I enjoyed it for it’s ridiculousness but deep in my cold black heart I know it didn’t belong.

7/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

