(1982) Creepshow

I had an absolute blast watching Creepshow and although there’s no oscar performances here, it’s just plain fun to watch. I’m psyched that a bunch of awesome horror anthologies have been released lately; it’s becoming one of my favorite film styles.

This movie kind of plays out like a slightly sillier and more vibrant The Twilight Zone. It took a minute to catch on that this was a comic book adaptation but once I understood that tone, it was much easier to enjoy.

As with any anthology, everyone is going to have their favorite segment. For me, the first segment was a little too goofy and kind of turned me off of the movie somewhat. It’s not that I didn’t enjoy it but I was a little bummed at the lack of creepiness and overall kind of choppy acting. Thankfully, I feel like the stories only improve from there. The second story is actually even goofier than the first but nevertheless it was way more entertaining, which probably had a lot to do with getting to see Stephen King act out a redneck.

My favorite segment was probably the third one, Something to Tide You Over with Ted Danson and Leslie Neilson. Leslie is just undeniably hilarious, even when he’s attempting to drown his victim.

The next few shorts are solid, no sense in mapping this all out for you, just watch it; the mystery is half the fun and I’m boring myself at this point. I probably would have enjoyed this slightly more if I watched it when i was younger but it still works beautifully as a popcorn movie if you’re looking for something to toss on.

7/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

