(1998) Ringu

This was my first time watching Ringu after having seen the successful US remake The Ring. Both are textbook examples of atmospheric horrors and they both scare me.

This is one of those movies that, while widely praised, isn’t going to be exempt from people who just flat out don’t like it. If you just think about it for a second, the entire premise is downright ridiculous. What’s scary here are the elements of dread, the 7 day countdown, the way the evil little bitch moves, the videotape itself, the dreary landscape etc.

As far as how the this movie and the remake differ, there’s a slight alteration in the storyline that suggests Sadako had other worldly powers prier to her death and her psionically created video tape. Beyond the plot, the original lacks the grey scale from the remake that I fell in love with. It really just sucked the life out of me when I first saw it, I’m embarrassed to say as a young lad I was too scared to finish the remake on my first watch.

What are the divorce rates in Japan? All the women are fucking gorgeous, seemingly up until death. It almost detracted from the story when one of the guys introduced his ex-wife. Like are you joking right now? I’d burn this blog to the ground just to beat off my little ramen noodle while that middle aged women farted in my mouth.

I can’t end this review without pointing out that 92.3% of It Follows plot was copied and pasted right from the last 5 minutes of this film, not that I don’t love that movie too.

8/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

