(2011) The Rite

The Rite is an incredible exorcism movie in a sea of mediocre/awful ones. I’m discouraging people from making a lot of exorcism movies, it’s a big subject but I appreciated this films originality in terms of story development.

Anthony Hopkins is fantastic as always and the kid who played Kovak was great as well. Frankly, I have no idea why this movie didn’t get more attention.

I loved the skepticism of Father Kovak, it really balanced out a lot of the religious bullshit by not forcing us to digest possession immediately.

I guess I don’t have a ton to say despite really enjoying the film. I mean the cinematography was excellent. Why do I always have to say shit like “in a sea of bad films”, why not just say there’s quite a few bad films in the sub-genre? Do you ever just want to tell yourself to fuck off?

8/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

