(2016) The Neon Demon

Oh my fucking god. First off, I watched this with my girlfriend and she was like, does this remind you of Drive? Well I just realized now it’s the same director. Now I don’t hate Drive but I certainly don’t think it’s a great movie. The Neon Demon is a whole other beast, in a bad way.

Right off the bat you get atrociously bad dialogue, just catty shit fuck stupid bitch anthem type writing. BUT WAIT! It all meanssssss something because the director has jerked off to Dario Argento’s Suspiria and a few neon lights are supposed to deepen the mood. God I fucking hate that opening scene.

Moving on, you get into some more advanced production. I loved the cinematography and there’s a scene with Elle Fanning being photographed that’s really unsettling for some reason. It’s really the whole movie right in that moment. The rest is painfully predictable and pointless.

I really don’t like this movie, it was entertaining at times but I knew where it was going and it wasn’t anything new. I don’t think it even aimed big which makes me laugh thinking about how bold all the production was. This director is a one trick pony in my opinion. Unless you think you can really outdo David Lynch, can everyone stop fucking making surrealist films about Hollywood?

2.5/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

