(2005) Haze

This is an effective Japanese horror that’s on the shorter side at 49 minutes. Is it a short film? A feature? Do we give a shit?

It’s a film who’s setup is somewhat in the same vein as Cube but much more bleak, which is to be expected from any Japanese horror. I think some of the criticisms were concerning the lack of content in the actual storyline but I actually enjoyed the movie being really short. In the short time I watched it I really felt claustrophobic and frankly pretty anxious.

The ending is also potentially problematic for people and maybe it’s possible I reached a bit but to me it was incredibly dark and unexpected. They could have done anything they wanted to for the ending but I stand by their decision.

Check this out if you were a fan of Cube or if you have 45 min to spare in general.

8/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

