(2002) Bubba Ho-Tep

Alright, so let me just preface this by saying I’m in on what’s going on. I love Don Coscarelli and Bruce Campbell and I understand what makes their collective filmmaking likable.

Alright just have to rip off the band-aid here, this movie is overrated. Don’t worry, I don’t mean egregiously but I mean, even by cult standards. This film has a good ending and Campbell and black JFK Ossie Davis are cute together. My problem is, the message, although not entirely cheap, is obvious. I’m not going to pretend I don’t know what’s going on and the film doesn’t do a great job at concealing it.

Another issue I have is with the humor. They really were pushing this incredibly unfunny Bruce Campbell STD joke that didn’t land for me the 1st time so by the 4th it was like “okay dude, you’re gross, we get it.”

Umm, let’s see…other than that? I mean, it’s boring, there’s a ton of filler with some mediocre dialogue. It’s really not that outlandish of a plot to begin with given this group of talent, which for me is disappointing because it’s the shining light on Phantasm and Evil Dead.

The most important thing it does have is charm; it’s a film about old age and regret, which wont ever stop being relevant. For those of you who love it, keep on doing your thing. For those of you like me, who can enjoy it without ignoring the obvious, we’re alright too. It’s kind of like life really, even when something good happens I’m able to pause and enjoy it, even though I know deep down that overall, things are pretty much shit.

6/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

2 thoughts on “(2002) Bubba Ho-Tep”

  1. I have yet to get a hold of this film, Ben. When I was living in LA there was a screening that I wanted to attend but something came up. Did this film sit “in the can” for awhile? I thought I had heard that somewhere. Great review. Thanks for keeping it real & not lost in the fandom.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the feedback, Susan! It did in fact “sit in the can” for quite some time, I think a reasonably strong ending sort of made people forget about that. Always keeping it real!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

