(2016) The Autopsy of Jane Doe

I hate everything that’s been said about this movie so far, both the things I agree with and the things I don’t. I really feel like no one knows how to talk about it from a simple, honest perspective. This isn’t a great film nor is it a bad one; it’s just brazenly uninspired and arrogantly capitalizes on the current hot horror trends.

The production itself was alright, I felt the moments that were CGI-less were well shot and the landscape of the morgue was and always has been a great horror location. The CGI itself really showed in a literal way where the budget restrictions were. Just light the room on fire, get a stunt double I don’t give a shit. I fucking hate shitty fake CGI fire.

Creatively, the scare effects were effective but predictable and overused after the first half. I don’t hate jump scares, I just hate using them like a perfectly abled fat kid riding a handicap scooter around Walmart.

That same last statement stands for the story. I can actually see the team of writers getting all twitchy and excited thinking they’re geniuses for that “backstory”. A backstory that was revealed with like 10 minutes left in the movie.

I apologize for sounding like a douchebag but for the casual moviegoer, this will most likely do the trick. Those of us who need 99% pure Columbian uncut horror to get off will get agitated quickly.

5/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

5 thoughts on “(2016) The Autopsy of Jane Doe”

Leave a Reply

