(2016) Trash Fire

Trash fire has an immense amounts of problems but a very strong ending.

It’s the kind of thriller/horror where the big reveal is explained to the audience directly as if we’re a character ourselves which I find incredibly weak. I also don’t think Adrian Grenier is a particularly good or bad actor, he’s just a pretty face.

It was a movie that wasn’t good or bad initially, just a movie that wasn’t bad enough to turn off, as my girlfriend put it.

I think I mentioned that the old woman put in a decent performance and she mentioned that it was overacted which kind of opened my eyes to that portion of phoned in horror. She really was such a cliche character that I can’t count it as a plus.

All in all, I’d say this was a film that didn’t need to be made. I was able to predict everything right away and any thrills had were overly generic.

The problem with this type of film is that when you dedicate a majority portion to the relationship between two characters, you can’t just overlook those performances. It was built around this incredibly toxic relationship but even that wasn’t portrayed in an interesting or original way. I actually just mostly found it frustrating. And while the iMDB page noted it as an intentional comedy, it seemed anything but.

I can’t recommend this to anyone unfortunately, there’s just too many other good options out there.

4/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

