(2016) The Eyes of my Mother

The Eyes of my Mother is a masterfully produced arthouse style horror film that manages to trim the bullshit while remaining very impactful.

The running time is like an hour and 15 minutes and the pacing of the movie is quite possibly the most interesting aspect. Everything we’re actually shown on screen is very raw and realistic but there’s cuts in the film where significant lapses in time bring up questions about what actually happened. This is where most of the criticism is coming from; it’s spawned complaints of ambiguity and unresolved aspects of the story. I can tell you straight up, it’s not hard to fill in the blanks and what can’t be filled in, isn’t meant to be. So obviously to me, all of these aspects were huge strengths.

Kika Magalhaes is a powerful lead. She’s absolutely gorgeous but sports what me and my friends used to refer to in college as “serial killer eyes”.

There’s not too much more I can say without ruining it but I don’t agree with most of the reviews rolling in on this one. I think it’s one of the stronger horror films put out this year and there’s some really sick shit going on here.

8.5/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

