(2010) Dream Home

The basic premise of this movie is a perspective buyer killing off her would-be neighbors to lower the asking price. Living in Boston with crazy high rent prices, this was such a satisfying and relevant movie for me.

The film is pretty brutal in terms of effects and such but it’s balanced quite nicely by intelligent comedic breaks. There’s this interaction between our young protagonist and a little boy living next door that’s just next level sweet.

I seriously loved this. I think I’m subconsciously trying to knock it down a peg for have a seemingly simple plot but it’s just not the case. A substantial back story and sub-plots bring a surprising amount of depth. I really loved this movie.

Someone was upset over my Fender Bender review and asked me what I consider to be a good slasher. This right here is a good slasher. I feel like a lot of people don’t like their social commentary with their splatter fest but I’m not one of those people. Make it crazy, make it meaningful and make it funny. I want it all.

8.5/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

