(1979) Rapture

This film was mind boggling in both an impressive way and then eventually in an annoying way. I don’t feel embarrassed to say that I didn’t quite comprehend it because I didn’t quite think it was comprehensible.

I don’t really feel comfortable making any strong statement one way or another here. I did enjoy this film but I didn’t think it was successful. It takes a very popular form of surrealism from this era and capitalizes on it. It’s the type of filmmaking where I usually accept the unacceptable in hopes of it paying off. In this case, it didn’t

1,300+ rating on iMDB at 7.3/10? You know, I take these things into account before ranting. That’s actually a very small number of reviews. Even with those small numbers, I’d still say this is fucking with the most overrated movies I’ve seen in a long time. I mean, it’s complex. It was really difficult to follow at times but those moments led somewhere. It was just an ultimate failure. I can’t say definitively what this film was a statement on but I don’t really give a shit either way.

I can’t recommend this to anyone, really pissed I wasted two very invested hours on it. With that being said it did perplex me to new levels. I guess it’s possible I truly didn’t get and I like to keep my posts honest.

3/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

4 thoughts on “(1979) Rapture”

  1. Okay, Ben. I read the excerpt in IMDB and it sounds ponderous and somewhat pretentious. If they were supposedly filming a drug addict maybe that is why the plot seemed incomprehensible. Maybe you were supposed to vicariously live it. Who knows? I felt the same way about the critically acclaimed, Last Tango in Paris. Ridiculous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll one up you, I felt the same way about…Mulholland Drive, am I allowed to say that as a horror blog writer? Strange, considering I love David Lynch. I guess some films hit for me and others don’t. I still can’t help but feel left out of the loop when I don’t like a highly rated movie.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

