(2005) Funky Forest: The First Contact

Dude I fucking loved this. It’s totally shitty at times but I don’t know, this was such an experience watching this. For those who aren’t at all familiar with this movie, it’s a Japanese anthology horror/comedy.

The dialogue and character interactions are incredibly dreamlike. They end up having a serious trance-like effect (I was a little high though). It’s a really long movie at 2.5 hours and while the entire thing feels like the film equivalent to a run on sentence, there’s so much diversity that you’re never really bored. Even the few moments I found myself slipping into boredom, it was more like I was hypnotized but the sheer fuckery that was being displayed in front of me.

Some people will become immersed in the surrealism while others will just see s 14 year old trying to be random for attention. Love this or hate it but it should be experienced by everyone; I mean literally everyone. Pop this on a laptop and gather the family around so you can watch Grandma’s crumbling faith in humanity live.

7.5/10

 

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

