(2009) The Descent: Part 2

I’m a fairly big fan of The Descent and I had no idea there was a second movie made until right now, which usually isn’t a good sign. I can say upfront that I do think this is worth a watch.

I don’t know where to start so I guess I’ll just start with the first thing I noticed. Before the movie got a chance to impress me it really turned me off with bad acting. Specifically by Gavan O’Herlihy. I can’t say I’ve seen him in any other roles but he was just wrong for this. His speech pattern and overall demeanor was awkward and overdramatic. I don’t think he necessarily ruins the film but he’s probably my biggest complaint.

My other complaint would be the plot in general. It’s a weird complaint to make because it’s a movie that ultimately didn’t need to be made. I get it though, fans dug the first one, let’s get back in that cave. For the most part my expectations on the overall structure of the film were met but nevertheless, if I’m reviewing it I do have to mention that the circumstances surrounding getting our protagonist back in the cave. I get that realism is thrown out of the window when we’re dealing with subterranean humanoid creatures but I still expect more, if that makes any sense.

On to the good things, the movie looked great. I can’t imagine it had a huge budget but I was definitely a fan of the set pieces and special effects. The CGI use isn’t fantastic but it seemed really limited and I respect that. Our original film’s “Sarah” was impressive as well. Her performance is frenetic and anxiety ridden but also conveys confidence in certain moments, showing her character’s growth from the original.

Whether you love or hate the ending, I feel that it did wrap up some of my smaller complaints. After it ended I did have to come clean to myself that my favorite moments in this were merely rehashed scenes from the first one. Despite the fact that I still enjoyed those tense, claustrophobic moments all the same; it’s tough to give them a ton of praise.

What did you guys think of this one? Did it capture the spirit of the first film or was it a cheap knock-off?

6/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

