(2006) Sheitan

I’m truthfully a little blown away by this movie. It has a strangeness to it that’s almost indescribable. I couldn’t have ever predicted what was to go on in this film from reading the description.

I don’t want to ruin a single thing but I will say this isn’t for weak stomachs or the faint of heart. It truthfully pushes the limits for what’s even acceptable for a horror film. Of course with that comes the usual criticism that it’s just ultra fucked up for the sake of shock value. I’m not discrediting that analysis but if you trust my opinion then i can tell you, there’s more to this movie than that.

This is a perfectly acceptable movie to go in completely blind, it will be confusing and disorientating either way. It’s strongest aspects are subtle and sometimes overshadowed by the chaos but this film does an excellent job at creating a nightmarish environment. I don’t mean that as in it’s just scary, I mean its approach to creating a dreamscape and all that it entails is done intelligently and with purpose.

8/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

