(2003) High Tension

I love some good French horror as well as home invasion movies in general (if they’re done right). The tension is constantly high in High Tension– holy shit…I just understood the title.

But seriously, this film has a lot of things I value so highly in horror movies. One of those things would be the quality of the villain. We get a methodical villain that’s as powerful and unwavering as can be, without seeming unrealistic or superhuman. He’s quiet and doesn’t even give the protagonist an opportunity to reason with him.

The ending is definitely unexpected and works very well. It’s not entirely a mind bender like horror fans make it out to be but it works in this context.

There’s some really great performances here and it just feels like a really, trimmed up, complete film. It’s fast paced and viciously brutal; I highly recommend this.

8/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

2 thoughts on “(2003) High Tension”

  1. What I liked about this movie was the unexpectedness of it. It was trippy and definitely was a psychological mind screw but that is exactly the type of film I enjoy. I want to think. I want to be amped up on tension. This flick packs a punch and I could watch it on a loop.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree, the tension is perfect and the psychological aspect is well done. It’s just a really well paced film. Usually I’ll pause a movie to grab something to snack on but I was pretty well glued to this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

