(1973) The Legend of Hell House

Thanks Susan for recommending this one! I really enjoyed this and I think it’s truly one of the great haunted house movies.

The performances are all excellent and help to create this unique, creepy atmosphere that’s present from start to finish. The possession scenes go really above and beyond what many similar movies were doing at the time. Tons of moments of violent sexual deviousness and outbursts. I almost wish they pushed this even further. I felt like I was expecting an orgy at any moment, though it never came. That’s the story of my life really.

As far as how the movie looks, the effects hold up impressively well. Everything looks sort of dark and ominous; with sporadic scenes of pastel red/pink to offset it. I really liked the exterior of Hell House as well, the extreme low angle shots standing in the fog were awesome.

All-in-all, I really enjoyed this film. I do think the stories background suggests a much more graphic film but I also understand that necrophilic/cannibalistic scenes probably wouldn’t have gone over well. I’m happy with what it is.

7/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

