(1974) The Living Dead at Manchester Morgue

Wow, this is low-key one of the greatest zombie movies ever made. Okay, maybe that’s exaggerating but definitely one of the best early zombie films.

I watched a blu-ray copy of this and for 1974, help my fuck buddy, this movie looks incredible. The effects are awesome, the sound is pretty good and the setting in general is really dope for a zombie film.

One of the things that sometimes bugs me about both zombie films and horror movies in general, is when directors use heavy filters/low lighting to enhance special make-up effects. I’m so stoned I don’t even really know how to word this but I’m just trying say say that bright red blood looks incredibly in broad, clear daylight. My god, I just got so angry thinking about how rare this is.

The actual story itself is really engaging with a satisfying ending that sets up a sequel perfectly. Does this have a sequel? I’ll have to search around. Definitely check this one out, it’s one of the better films I’ve watched this month so far.

8/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

