(1972) The Other

Ugh, I always hate doing these type of reviews because people usually universally disagree with them but here goes nothing. The Other is a now widely respected film and groundbreaking psychological horror that seemingly helped pave the way for tons of other awesome movies with fucked up kids as the lead.

I don’t think the film holds up too well for me personally and I can’t imagine other seasoned horror fans feeling any differently. I was able to predict the twist within about 2 minutes, which really isn’t a statement on this films mystery, it just is what it is. If I had seen this when it first came out then I’m sure it would have really impressed me. Unfortunately, I know the horror-twin game and this was obvious from the start.

I hate to say it but that ruined it for me, it was pretty boring after that. There weren’t any really graphic scenes to pump it up and the whole thing just ended up feeling flat.

I can certainly see the merit in the technical aspects of the film. I just didn’t enjoy it, I’m glad everyone else does but once again, I’m going with my gut on this one.

5/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

