(1970) The House That Screamed

This is a pretty successful film that I’m sure Dario Argento watched before he made Suspiria. It’s very similar in a lot of ways; general creepy vibe, boarding school and of course, it’s a murder mystery.

With that being said, this one kind of bored me a bit. It’s not something I can put my finger on, it just did. It’s well put together as far as murder mysteries go. I think it’s more about the fact that I’ve seen movies very similar to this and despite this being a predecessor to them, it feels repetitive.

I did really appreciate the headmaster’s relationship with her son. It was very creepy and had an unsettling incestual vibe. I’d really like to revisit this film in the future but I did enjoy it, I’m just not going to pretend it was favorite thing ever.

7/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

6 thoughts on “(1970) The House That Screamed”

  1. Maybe I should revisit Argento’s Suspiria. When I saw it way back when I didn’t enjoy it. I wondered what all the fuss was about. I don’t have an aversion to foreign films either. Maybe I should give this one a whirl. It sounds creepy enough.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s entirely about the atmosphere but you’re not alone. I hear people say they didn’t like it either. I liked it and understood the hype just based on the production alone but I don’t think Argento is a genius or anything. He did Phenomena almost 10 years later riding the same premise and the ending to that is as ridiculous as any friday the 13th movie. Maybe I’m the one that has to revisit Suspiria to make sure it’s even good haha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha no not pedestrian, you know me I don’t toss praise at anything unenjoyable regardless of its legacy. I happen to like Suspiria and I also like referencing it because a ton of the techniques used in it are copied in modern horrors. I usually use it to criticize films such as The Neon Demon but I could easily criticize the film itself for not being overly inventive in terms of plot. I think if I actually sat down and did a review of Suspiria I’d almost ruin the film for myself because you’re right, it really isn’t that great. Argento might be a far better director then he is a writer which I just realized.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha that’s a good example except I do love his movie Aliens as well as The Abyss, even if he does tend to turn every horror concept into an action movie. I think The Terminator series is where he shined.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

