(2015) The Lure

Well boys, as a straight adult male I never thought I’d say this but I enjoyed the fuck out of a musical about mermaids. Seriously though, this was awesome. The mermaid from The Cabin in the Woods seriously needs his own movie but in the meantime, sink your teeth into this bad boy.

I hate musicals, I really do. When I was a kid and my favorite show’s musical episode came on I felt like I was getting robbed. This was different though, I don’t know if it was the special makeup effects or the tits but it’s just so visually appealing. The music wasn’t constantly being shoved down your throat, more so, it was just an aid in telling a story.

It’s just so diverse in content that I could never tell how weird it was going to get. It felt like David Cronenberg and Wes Anderson were just plowing each other for an hour and a half.

I don’t know what else to say, I’m just sitting here craving more from first time feature director Agnieszka Smoczynska. 

8.5/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

