(1991) Naked Lunch

There’s so much going on in this film and to a Cronenberg virgin, it would almost certainly seem ridiculously nonsensical. I fucking loved it though.

This movie is all about strangeness and attention to detail while sifting through the chaos. I don’t really get too much pretentious metaphorical material out of it but every scene does seem to be purposeful in telling a separate side of the story. There’s certainly a huge aspect to the plot that revolves around what actually is or isn’t happening. While I’m not confident in my interpretation, I’m satisfied with it.

The perfect thing about Cronenberg adapting this screenplay from the book is that no matter how much you understand from it, it will always be visually appealing. He loves body horror, pulsing special makeup effect assholes and unique creature design. Not only that, Burroughs work gives his body horror purpose, which I won’t get into to avoid spoilers. They’re basically just a match made in heaven.

It’s weird to say but the ending, or at least my interpretation of it, was kind of what I always expected. The genius in this film is that it projected itself enough to eventually make me think otherwise. It’s certainly never out of Cronenberg’s realm to create an insanely abstract world in a literal sense.

This is a terrible review, I’m aware, but I just wanted to say that I love this film and it’s absolutely worth a watch. It takes a really strong stance on rationalizing who you are, whether it be dealing with homosexuality or even drug addiction. It’s not easy to love but if you stay engaged and let it marinate, you might find your own unique connection to it.

9/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

3 thoughts on “(1991) Naked Lunch”

  1. I dig Cronenberg’s films. I always have. I remember reading Naked Lunch around the time the film came out. That was a crazy read and then I saw the movie which had some amazing imagery. Films like this are hard to encapsulate. It is definitely worth another look. Good review, Ben.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He’s one of my favorite directors and thank you, I agree, this one was definitely tough to review. There’s just so much going on. I have a long flight coming up and I plan on reading the book!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

