(2016) Don’t Knock Twice

I was fairly sure I wouldn’t enjoy this film about 5 minutes into it. The setup seems overly generic and although I’m not one to condemn jump scares, they were sightly over used and not entirely effective.

Katee Sackhoff was a strong on screen presence and her acting seemed a bit above par for a movie like this. Everyone else was fairly average.

There’s nothing really new going on here and that’s what initially bothered me but I have to commend this film for finishing strong. The effects were satisfactory and and it had a few genuinely surprising twists.

It’s kind of depressing when you’re watching these new horror movies, critiquing them like a freshman year english teacher. I know none of them are going to show me anything impressively unique or original. The best I can usually hope for is something that’s technically sound and a story that’s executed well.

Like I’ve said many times before, if you’re a casual horror go-er, this one is worth checking out. If you have no life like me and watch a different horror every single day, chances are you’ve seen something really similar to this already.

6/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

