(2010) I Saw the Devil

I’m just going to blurt this out there before I forget it because I’m constantly trying to figure out how to describe movies like this. I Saw the Devil has, beyond every other thrilling aspect the film, an invigoratingly intense visual component. Off the top of my head it’s similar to No Country for Old Men and The Town That Dreaded Sundown (the remake). What kind of style is this? Is there a name for it? Either way, it’s without a doubt one of my favorite styles of filmmaking.

Jee-Woon Kim makes actions feel loud and crisp. Both the villain and our protagonist are powerful in their own right. It’s both intensified but also remarkably realistic. I get that that’s a paradox of sorts but I just mean, it’s just not what audiences are used to seeing. There’s not too much left to the imagination with this one in terms of the violent sequences.

That’s all I have for you folks, it’s getting late and I’m too tired to do a whole rant and rave. Without supporting such a grandiose statement with more facts or interesting commentary let me just say that this film is really fucking good. I know people always fucking call movies “unapologetic” but this film is truly unapologetic. It injects elements into an already fantastic story that will instantly become divisive among fans. Fortunately, I ate up the crazier story aspects and I suspect many other horror fans will too. At almost 2 1/2 hours, this movie never once even hinted at boring me.

This is a no brainer recommendation, just watch it.

9.5/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

