(2017) The Discovery

I think the afterlife concept surrounding The Discovery is unequivocally interesting and will probably always remain that way. I love to see movies take on huge thematic elements and this film did it in a semi-interesting albeit ultra depressive way.

My main problem with this film is that it’s fucking boring. The ending is incredibly strong and genuinely touching but I had to remind myself that I spent a good portion of the film fighting the temptation to play bullshit games on my phone.

Since I’m starting with the problems I’ll also say that Rooney Mara sucks. I don’t believe she’s a good actress. Jason Segal was also fairly awkward in his role, he should stick to comedies.

All-in-all, I think I wanted to love this movie more than I actually did. Some of the sci-fi elements were kind of stupid if you thought about them too much and it just dragged a ton. With all that being said, it’s still worth a watch, I guess.

6/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

