(1971) The Devils

I believe I watched the correct full length version as the plot was still fully in tact but for others, just be careful not to watch the cut, censored version. Anyways, this was a really excellent stab at the Catholic church and I didn’t even realize it was based on a true story until it was over (slightly embarrassing).

My one complaint is that it gets complicated too quickly. I found myself having to pause and rewind multiple times, to make sure I was recognizing the character on screen. Once it really gets moving it isn’t an issue but that was one impression I got from this.

Other than that, I can see why this was so obviously controversial at the time and likely still is to the church. It really just captures all the sexual repression and constant manipulation that goes on in the church. They should almost make a modern day sequel where the priests use the fear of god to fuck little kids.

On the opposite end of the spectrum, the character Grandier represents an incredibly modern and well-adjusted version of religious faith. He speaks publicly about not taking everything in the text so literally and is much more in tune to his own natural desires.

It’s tough to tell how accurate of a representation The Devils is of what actually occurred in Loudun, France back then but either way, it seems eye-opening. I really enjoyed this one.

8/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

