(1963) The Whip and the Body

I don’t entirely agree with what everyone usually says about this movie. I didn’t find it very “erotically violent” nor did I think the atmosphere was “uniquely gothic”. Yes, I know I need to adjust my expectation for 1963 but I just don’t feel the need to praise a movie I didn’t really enjoy, regardless of when it was made.

It’s a fine ghost story though, if you’re into those. The acting is solid and just because I took a shot at the atmosphere praises doesn’t mean that I don’t think it’s one of the movies strong suits. The lighting and set pieces were definitely solid. Another high note (heh) is the film’s score, which I thought stood out.

I’m not knocking Mario Bava’s filmmaking abilities, I did enjoy his film Bay of Blood; there’s just only so much you can do with a story like this. It’s a ghost story, you’ve seen one, you’ve seen them all (sometimes).

6/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

