(1966) Cul-De-Sac

The setup to this movie is initially kind of generic and maybe that was intentional for Polanski so he could quietly work in something deeper.

I mean, as far as what the movie is about plot wise, just read the description. The notable things worth talking about however, may not be as surfaced as his other films. As a filmmaker, he clearly has a fascination with struggles surrounding sexuality.

I think part of the films greatness is in its setting and this is just something I’m possibly pulling out of my ass but I couldn’t help thinking, what the fuck was this couple doing living in this castle? It’s isolated, dark, filled with literal gay shit. I took it as a clear metaphor for Donald Pleasence character’s sexuality. Then again, his wife seems super in on it and yeah, I don’t know.

It’s possibly in that confusion where this intensional bout of humor drips into the film. It shifts in and out of this stark tension to an almost flamboyant, sitcom level tension. It’s another thing that kind of threw me.

I’ll keep this simple; I watched it, I digested it and think I missed a lot of what it was offering. I loved what I saw but I just can’t keep running around in my head attributing a different metaphor to every single fucking person, place or thing in this film. It’s frankly exhausting.

I think my bewilderment to such a seemingly simple film is a huge praise. I’m really curious what other’s thought of this one, it definitely got me thinking. Apologies for an inevitable subpar review, they happen from time to time.

7/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

