(2016) Hounds of Love

I have a sneaking suspicion that this film will be praised substantially in the years to come and people will walk away feeling like they saw an incredible piece of art. I want to just say upfront that the masterpiece wrapping paper is really only a precursor to a film that in the end, plays it safe.

I don’t know what to say about the cinematography, it just felt like a ripoff of every “raw” and “powerful” modern film. It’s this odd mix of shaky cam and artfully long shots with mismatched focus. I’ve seen it before and have been impressed but I really hope this doesn’t set the standard for what a film needs to be impactful. Some of my favorite horror movies of all time display most of their originality in the production.

My second issue is with the story. It’s predictable and almost to a fault of Susie Porter’s exceptional acting, which made all the ins and outs of her character instantly transparent. I felt the dynamic between her and Stephen Curry’s character was realistic but it didn’t make for the most interesting on-screen adaptation. As soon as I stop thinking about the abductor as a threat, which is something that happened very early on, I can already see our positive ending Unfortunately, I was pretty confident in this instant of predictability and the rest of the film didn’t do anything to change that so here we are.

Lastly, and this is my most petty complaint, the ending scene is just…off. The song choice, the slo-mo, it just didn’t feel right. It cut short the films most intense, sweaty-palms sequence and left me feeling kind of whatever.

I realize this entire review seems like endless criticism but the movie’s strongpoints are obvious. I’m expecting most people to love this, I even really enjoyed it myself. I just wanted to offer a different perspective for the casual filmgoers who aren’t as psychotically focused or familiar with other abduction movies. This entire film is like a very expensive painting that, while I can appreciate and enjoy, could never justify buying.

6.5/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

