(2003) Underworld

I actually found this film to be pretty tactless but I couldn’t help but also feel like it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

First off, as my regular readers know, I’m not a huge fan of heavy filters, especially ones that tend to naturally bore. The filter on this film does exactly that, it bored me to tears. When everything looks the same, nothing looks good.

When I say this movie is tactless, I really just mean that it’s filmed for a generally unintelligent audience. In that sense, I can see how they made this into a franchise film. Everything is explained directly to the audience from the characters so there’s no confusion as to what’s going on or who’s who. That’s a shitty way to explain it but hopefully you get what I mean.

I thought the climax looked really stupid but that’s also just my opinion, I don’t necessarily think it’s weak on any major technical level.

While Kate Beckinsale’s leather body suit may have unearthed yet another fetish for me, I don’t think this is a good film. It’s not terrible by any means, just not my cup of tea.

5.5/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

