(2016) Here Alone

This is a solid film that I don’t think was necessarily needed by the horror community but I’m glad we received it. We’ve had this ultra-realistic, post apocalyptic microcosm film before and I can’t say I got anything entirely new out of Here Alone but rather, a much more in touch version of similar works.

I did appreciate the ending, I thought the specific details on film were gut wrenching. They also potentially represented the potential sacrifices of this fictional landscape better than previous films of the same genre.

It’s a definite slow burn but the subtleties in all three characters built three different dynamic personas to grow attached to.

I was concerned with the slow pacing of this film but sitting here digesting it, I realize there’s a lot of talent here and I’m looking forward to what this director does next.

7.5/10

Author: Ben

26 year old cheeseburger addicted horror junkie

Leave a Reply

